Disciplinary Literacy…

Guess what. This was really hard for me to do. As soon as I figured out that Word Press won’t allow me to embed an audio component, I knew I had to create a youtube video. This brings me back down the road of movie maker for windows, which is a simple program for tech savvy fiends, but not me! I then had to figure out how to convert my interview, which was taken as a voice recording on my iphone, to something that would transfer into the movie maker. This involved downloading new software and having to figure out a whole new literacy with no help but all of google…still a hard task. There is most definitely more to the “technology is hard” story, by Lauren Keating, but bottom line, I’m exhausted.
I am also proud. This connects to my interview with Jordan Goebig, because of what she says about the most important block of knowledge that she uses in her occupation as Assistant Director at an educational nonprofit organization called the Illinois Property Assessment Institute.

When I asked Jordan about the types of literacies she uses in her field of work she explains at 13:15  the importance of understanding how government works being a literacy she hadn’t even known she’d have to use! She expands by saying that understanding how government works on paper is important, but also the connotations and denotations of politics are important to conjure. It was interesting, she mentioned having to figure out the people that say one thing and do a completely different thing and figuring out the most effective ways to communicate with people in different counties and townships–because location makes a difference in the ways you communicate. This is so relevant to real world experience, in the ways that we know the “do and don’t” methods of communication with many types of people, but in Jordan’s case, political people were a new brand and therefore required a fresh literacy, in which she continues to grow in.

The next type of literacy she brought up was at 16:20, and it had to do with navigating the professional world, which tied into the last question I asked about what the most important block of knowledge she uses in her occupation. It’s clear that by the end of her spiel I was excited and pumped to bring up what has been talked about over and over in Tch 219.

I want to use her words to begin how she conceptualized “navigating the professional world.” These were some of the things she said:

-You have to learn how to handle yourself so people stop calling you the intern or considering you as the intern
-You’re treated differently when you learn to handle yourself professionally
-You have stand up for yourself; you have to have your own back
-You have to learn how to have the difficult conversations with people

At 18:40, she explains her most important block of knowledge:
-Adults don’t know how to adult
-This connects to professional literacy
-I’ve learned how important it is to have your own tools, or be given tools and do something with them, without someone telling you to–or how!
-The importance of independence
-To survive and thrive and like my job, I need to constantly figure out how to do things; new way to do things with the tools I have in front of me
-I ask myself “How can I make this fun and enjoyable? How can I maximize being in this role and having a lot of tools as assistant director”
-It was important to understand all of this because school tells you what to do constantly: this is what’s due, this is what you should do, this is how you do it, so you get out of school and you’re like “so what do I do now?”

Woah. It was after that blurb that  I promptly freaked out and stumbled over my words out of excitement, because
Yes. This is what we have been learning about:

-Enabling students to think outside of the box; think critically; think independently
-By teaching them this way, we are communicating that we trust in their abilities and we believe they are intelligent and creative enough to NOT have their hands held every second of the learning journey
-Students that leave High School with the confidence to think independently and figure out life by themselves are those that will thrive with new literacies: because figuring ways to understand new concepts is not a new practice

I connected Jordan’s experience with my own and the ways that teaching sticks me in a place where I am forced to be independent. It is always a challenge and it is always something I walk away from feeling fueled by; feeling reassured in my abilities; feeling excited about how I may improve.

-Teaching allows me to be independent, and OWN my experience
-Trying and succeeding in the broad literacy of technology is also something which empowers me!

As I said at the beginning, making this blog post was a challenge, but I did it and I am proud. It seems like such a small thing, but as soon as people bring to the forefront of their consciousness all of the small things they try and succeed at, and allow themselves to feel proud and empowered through them, the sooner we have a population that is not so easily afraid. People who remember their victories, whether small or large, are more likely to embark on the adventure that is life with excitement and confidence.

I want to be a teacher who helps create a population that is not so easily afraid.

(This is a blurb which includes 2 adulting memes)
adultin1.pngadultin 2

Author: Aufhebensite

Education embodies movement: Moving away from the person you are one day to a better person the next; consistently striving for what the Germans call Aufheben: The movement of canceling, preserving, and elevating thought. New information, new knowledge and new truths will consistently bring about cognitive dissonance—discomfort with previously made assertions, and there will be a need to take steps back, reevaluate, cancel and or keep, preserve and continue to elevate one’s thoughts. Transform one’s thoughts, transform one’s person. Education is by no means a way of perfecting a person in one sense or another; it’s about movement and personal growth.

Leave a Reply

