Peer Review of Blogs

The first blog that I reviewed was Jessica Keuth’s blog: 1. https://muchadoaboutnothing80.wordpress.com/

Jessica’s blog was very much like mine in its layout, as we both used wordpress.  I like hers better as it feels a bit more condensed and “together” whereas some of my pictures seem to have pasted in a way that’s less appealing. I very much enjoyed reading the variety of titles for each blog post and can’t help but compare them to mine—which were simply the names of the types of posts we were required to do. I am currently thinking about returning to my blog and maybe inserting some creativity into my titles, so thank you Jessica! I was very much so intrigued by all of the pictures and posts she inserted into her blog to enhance what she was writing about. It was really cool to read about a Theater Ed. person’s point of view on education and I especially enjoyed her post about the importance of lighting. It was awesome to me that Jessica had taken a class on lighting and makes me wish that I had ventured out more in my general education classes to learn about something so seldom discussed.

One of the posts I wanted to respond to was her post about the Chicago trip to Pilsen. First off, “Expectation is the root of all heartache”…Amen, Shakespeare. I see this quote played out in my everyday life regularly. I especially see this played out when I give much of myself to somebody—whether my time, my efforts, my affection, etc. and receive no gratitude or reciprocation or a positive response of any kind. Heartache is most definitely something I experience, because I am not a nonrenewable resource! I do run out of smiles; I run low on positive energy and I need some encouragement or give from the other side. Should this make me question my career choice? Because, honestly, I can see myself becoming one of the burned out teachers that Jessica mentioned she interacted with at Pilsen and it’s scary!
We can talk ideologically all day in Tch 219, but when we step into future classrooms will we remain fueled by those ideologies when they don’t save the world like they felt they had the power to do in class?
I guess as I reflect on this stream-of-consciousness response to Jessica’s post, I relate it back to how I felt this morning before I worked out: I did not feel like I wanted to work out and yet I did it because I knew how satisfied I would feel. I took the workout as a challenge to my “it’s too much work” mind set. This is how I will approach teaching. There will definitely be times where I’m ready to say “I’m burnt out,” but by reminding myself that this is good for me and I am capable and this is what I’m meant to do—I’ll keep doing it. I’m sure my students will keep me going much of the time, and for the times that I don’t feel like they do, I’m going to do what I have to do anyways!

The second blog I reviewed was Danielle Saputa’s blog:
2. https://eprofesoradaily.wordpress.com/

Can I just say that Danielle Saputa is amazing? This is not to say that my other Tch 219 classmates are not amazing, because everyone brings something so refreshing and thought-provoking to the table! But I can say whole heartedly that Danielle has educated me throughout my experience in Tch 219 and I am grateful for all of her extremely significant insight that I’ve been exposed to.
Danielle’s blog was made with wordpress as well, and is covered in pictures and videos that make me want to live in her blog for a little while and see what it’s all about. It’s funny that something as simple as color, and the engagement that comes from getting to click “play” is so substantial in grasping somebody’s attention to a blog. I loved how she began the Disciplinary Literacy blog post with the two memes “Wait…what?” and “break it down.” Beginning anything with a smile can transform the duration of your experience with whatever you’re undergoing. This connects back to teaching, BIG TIME, because if I can start a lesson by putting smiles on my student’s faces, maybe the remainder of class will be that much more enjoyable and enhance the amount of feedback I receive from them.
One of the first things I explored on Danielle’s Blog was her Peer review, which she did through screencast-o-matic ( I have no idea if this is how it’s spelled). Immediately I think
“how did she do that?”
“I wonder how long it would take for me to learn how to do that?”
“That would be cool to know how to use”
“I don’t know if I want to learn, ugh”

It’s so interesting to break down your own thought process and see how relevant this process is in many other areas of my life. I recognize the value in learning something new and most of the time I want to learn! However, thinking about the work that learning will entail always seems to dishearten me and make me feel overwhelmed. I wish I had had teachers in High School that made me feel confident in my ability to learn. This further intensifies my yearning to embody a teacher that does just that.

Anyways, I very much enjoyed listening and watching Danielle go through the four blogs she chose through this chosen technology. It made me reevaluate my own blog and fueled me to take some time and explore some technology I could potentially use as a future educator.

The third blog I reviewed was Shoko Onzato’s blog: 
https://timelesstortoise.wordpress.com/

Shoko Onozato…WHAT?! I, Lauren Keating, have just reviewed Shoko’s blog and this is me:

monkeyWhat-Meme-09

62947685

Shoko…is a technology wizard.

She used linoit.com to create her blog posts, which is like a virtual bulletin board. This board is seemingly never ending and actually quite overwhelming upon first viewing it. I found that it was broken down by these icons at the top of the board and if you click on the icon, it takes you to some centered posts. I also found that I couldn’t play the videos that came up, which was disappointing (that could potentially be a problem with my computer, though). This is what the board looks like as a whole:

shoko

This type of technology is very intriguing to me and makes me want to explore her posts in detail. The reason I wanted to review Shoko’s blog is because everything she said in class was meaningful. I feel like she rarely speaks just to speak, like a lot of people I know. Instead, she thinks before she contributes to discussion and in turn, brings some fascinating insight to the table. There are some people you are excited to hear from, simply because of the way they deliver their words, their demeanor and the overall air about them and Shoko was one of those people to me. The choices she made with her blog coincide with the way she carried herself in class and the ideas she communicated to all of us. I’m excited to try out this new technology on my own and am grateful for the experience with her and her blog!

Author: Aufhebensite

Education embodies movement: Moving away from the person you are one day to a better person the next; consistently striving for what the Germans call Aufheben: The movement of canceling, preserving, and elevating thought. New information, new knowledge and new truths will consistently bring about cognitive dissonance—discomfort with previously made assertions, and there will be a need to take steps back, reevaluate, cancel and or keep, preserve and continue to elevate one’s thoughts. Transform one’s thoughts, transform one’s person. Education is by no means a way of perfecting a person in one sense or another; it’s about movement and personal growth.

Leave a Reply

